mybestkungfu's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

myFamily (String , dysfunction) { ...

I always thought that my family was a little bit on the broken side. Brothers, sisters, cousins... all of us fending for ourselves emotionally. Children growing up in silence. Now some of us thriving in it. Seeking it. But i got a letter from my aunt today. All the way across the country. and she tells me how much she loves me and wants me to be happy... and if there is anything i need, i can just call. and i'm thinking - she can't have grown up with my father!? - who i've never heard utter the words 'love' and 'you' and 'I' in the same sentence...could it be the man/boy issue? but if it was - why is my Jorge a huge ball of emotional vomit? (i don't mean this in a horrible way amore, but i can't even keep up with you sometimes). In truth, I am relieved to have people in my life who are able to guide me through my repression hiccups. As well i am glad to know that there are people in my family - yes MY FAMILY. who are capable of being this...normal. OH JOYOUS OCCASION!!

ps. i love my father - who i called on dad's day. though he is emotionally stingy, i suspect his way of showing me he cares is by putting up with SO MUCH of my crap (sorry for crashing the car, thanks for lending me $$ and never asking for it back..etc) through the years. And although i don't have confrontational skills or have a habit of being defensive and closing myself off - my dad taught me how to fish and hunt and cook and sharpen my pencils with knives...and giftwrap(!).

ppss. i would also never tell my dad i loved him to his face. eesh. wieerd.

2:00 p.m. - Jun. 16, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

selfrequiem
agon